Colton Levi Clark

Dedicated to Colton Clark. Missing from Seminole, OK Since April 20, 2006. Looking for Truth and Justice for Colt.

21 Years Later – Jessie Gutierrez’s Story Comes to Life Again

Posted by KindraLore on December 4, 2007

Jessica Suzanne Gutierrez

Jessie Gutierrez – 4 Years Old 

On the evening of June 6, 1986 little four-year-old Jessica Suzanne Gutierrez was tucked safely in her bed sleeping in her home in Lexington, South Carolina in a bedroom she shared with her two sisters.

Sometime during the hours of 11:30PM and 9:00AM the following morning, an unknown intruder entered the Gutierrez home through a living room window. Jessie’s sister, six-year-old Rebecca who was sleeping right beside her, awoke to the sight of a man bent over their bed.

Jessica Suzanne Gutierrez Age Progressed

Jessie Gutierrez – Age Progressed 21 years

In a recent article she said that scene still haunts her 21 years later. “That man standing over our bed and him bending over to pick Jessie up. I see his face every night before I go to bed.”

Rebecca said her sister Jessie never woke up as the man carried her out of their bedroom. Terrified, the little girl did not tell her parents, but instead pulled a blanket over her head, scared to move. To this day Rebecca regrets that understandable decision that a six-year-old petrified child made.

The next day the child described the man that took her sister as “a man with a magic hat.”

All of these years Gutierrez’s mother Debbie has suspected an unnamed family friend as having taken her daughter. Debbie found fibers in an abandoned car that belonged to this family friend that she states were linked to her daughter.

The unnamed suspect has served time in prison in North Carolina for rape, and in 1987 told his cell mate that he kidnapped Jessie.

Sheriff James Metts says they’ve felt like they’ve had a case since the beginning against the family friend but still twenty-one years later there have been no arrests. “That’s what’s frustrating about the case. We’ve felt we knew who it was pretty much a day or two into that case, but we’ve been not able to convince the solicitor that we need to move forward as far as prosecution in concerned.”

Sheriff James Metts

Sheriff James Metts

Solicitor Donnie Meyers stated that “we have some evidence at the FBI as we speak that we hope may turn up something on this case, that will give us some additional probable cause that might enlighten the solicitor to move forward with the prosecution in this particular case.”

Solicitor Donnie Meyers

Solicitor Donnie Meyers

Meyers also went on to explain that twenty-one years ago “most of the evidence was inadmissible. The little bit of evidence they had there was an explanation for.”

With no body Meyers states that there needs to be “a mountain of evidence” in order to move forward.

As far as new evidence that Sheriff Metts spoke of, Meyers said “If an investigation is going on, I don’t know anything about it.”

Jessie’s family however hopes that finally they will move forward. “We want them to follow through with what they should have been doing back in 1986. We want justice, closure. This is something we’ll have to live with all of our life, but it would be a little easier knowing the person who did this goes to jail and pays for what he’s done to my sister, our family,” stated Rebecca.

Links and Articles:

National Center for Missing & Exploited Children
Sister of girl missing 21 years speaks about the abduction

Solicitor responds to accusations of holding up 21-year-old case

7 Responses to “21 Years Later – Jessie Gutierrez’s Story Comes to Life Again”

  1. Anonymous said

    The solicitor Donald Myers is holding up prosecution of my Daughter’s case. I know for a fact that the windows of my home were cleaned daily. And if that was not true then please explain to me how the suspects print was the “ONLY” print found on the window. Not only that before the suspects print matched, the print was sent to Washington and classified “highly fresh and not weathered”. I am completely exhausted from fighting a “system that was suppose to protect victims. Instead my Daughter is not only a victim of a kidnapping she has been victimized by the so called “buddy system” in our county as well. I was told years ago by the attorney General that to have another solicitor from another county would be “like questioning Mr. Myers job”. Please tell me why another solicitor can not look at my Daughter’s case files? I can not understand why the “system” has failed my daughter and my Family” In my quest to find justice for my daughter I also have been victimized by this Failing system. The local Sheriff’s department is saying one thing and the solicitor is saying something else. No one is promised tomorrow and all I have ever asked for is justice for my Daughter.I am told that an arrest will be made when the abductor comes knocking on the door of the sheriff’s department to confess. Please explain why the solicitor will not step down from my Daughter’s case and let another solicitor research her case. The solicitor did say, and I quote, “you are a squeaky wheel demanding oiling and you will get no greasing from Lexington County”. I am not a squeaky wheel I am a Mother who has been waiting for over 25 years for the “system” to do it’s job and prosecute my Daughter’s case. I only want justice for my Daughter Jessica. I have been victimized myself, but that’s ok, I am a Mother and I will not give up fighting for my Daughter.I can only pray that God gives me the strength to continue to fight this unlawful in justice to my Daughter and my Family. I feel completely defeated when I have no resources to help me in this matter. Where is my help coming from? I can only ask God for guidance because I can not find anyone in this county that can challenge this “buddy system”. Who is protecting these officials in their wrongful acts? And Why? Please someone, anyone that may read this help me to get an arrest for the kidnapping of my Daughter Jessica Suzanne Gutierrez. Please contact Sgt. David Pritchard of the Lexington county Sheriff’s department for more information. I am desperately pleading for your help. Sincerely, Debra Gutierrez

  2. The solicitor Donald Myers is holding up prosecution of my Daughter’s case. I know for a fact that the windows of my home were cleaned daily. And if that was not true then please explain to me how the suspects print was the “ONLY” print found on the window. Not only that before the suspects print matched, the print was sent to Washington and classified “highly fresh and not weathered”. I am completely exhausted from fighting a “system that was suppose to protect victims. Instead my Daughter is not only a victim of a kidnapping she has been victimized by the so called “buddy system” in our county as well. I was told years ago by the attorney General that to have another solicitor from another county would be “like questioning Mr. Myers job”. Please tell me why another solicitor can not look at my Daughter’s case files? I can not understand why the “system” has failed my daughter and my Family” In my quest to find justice for my daughter I also have been victimized by this Failing system. The local Sheriff’s department is saying one thing and the solicitor is saying something else. No one is promised tomorrow and all I have ever asked for is justice for my Daughter.I am told that an arrest will be made when the abductor comes knocking on the door of the sheriff’s department to confess. Please explain why the solicitor will not step down from my Daughter’s case and let another solicitor research her case. The solicitor did say, and I quote, “you are a squeaky wheel demanding oiling and you will get no greasing from Lexington County”. I am not a squeaky wheel I am a Mother who has been waiting for over 25 years for the “system” to do it’s job and prosecute my Daughter’s case. I only want justice for my Daughter Jessica. I have been victimized myself, but that’s ok, I am a Mother and I will not give up fighting for my Daughter.I can only pray that God gives me the strength to continue to fight this unlawful in justice to my Daughter and my Family. I feel completely defeated when I have no resources to help me in this matter. Where is my help coming from? I can only ask God for guidance because I can not find anyone in this county that can challenge this “buddy system”. Who is protecting these officials in their wrongful acts? And Why? Please someone, anyone that may read this help me to get an arrest for the kidnapping of my Daughter Jessica Suzanne Gutierrez. Please contact Sgt. David Pritchard of the Lexington county Sheriff’s department for more information. I am desperately pleading for your help. Sincerely, Debra Gutierrez

  3. jessica gutierrrez said

    my name is jessica gutierrez,l and i cant help but say put this man in jail !!

    @school

  4. debralynnhook said

    Debra, I thought of you when I saw a recent kidnapping story. I worked for The State newspaper when your daughter was kidnapped. The story I read today made me think of you and I found this site. I am so sorry for you that your daughter was never found and nobody was ever arrested. I think of you. All my best, Debra-Lynn B. Hook.

    • Anonymous said

      Thank you so much Debra for your kindness and most of all for your continued prayers. The people of Lexington County will be amazed one day when the truth finally is revealed. I have known 3 months after my Daughter’s kidnapping who it is that kidnapped her. He stole a van from Lexington County and raped a judge’s Daughter and that is when the prints lifted from the window of our home matched. Jessie’s kidnapping has turned into a political nightmare as well as a living hell for me. I continue to fight “the good ole boy system” for an arrest and conviction. I pray for Justice for my Daughter and pray that it is soon, very soon. I am constantly begging officials even the solicitor himself to resign from Jesse’s case so some other prosecutors can look at all the evidence. I would have never believed that a system that was designed to help locate my Daughter could make so many threats on me. I will never understand it. But I have always said first and foremost my Daughter. After that I will see what an attorney thinks about a lawsuit for Lexington County. Just because “they” are in office I don’t think “they” have the right to threaten anyone. Thanks again and I must say that I remember you. If I am not mistaken you wrote a few articles on Jesse’s story. Your continued prayers are so appreciated and please follow her story. I am praying for an arrest. Thank you so much, Debra Gutierrez

    • Anonymous said

      Dear Debra, thank you so much for your kindness and continued prayers. I remember you, if I’m not mistaken you wrote about Jesse’s story. I continue to fight the “good ole boy” system here in Lexington County. My Daughter is a victim of kidnapping and my Family has been victimized by a system that was designed to protect and serve. The people of Lexington County will be amazed one day when they hear everything that my Family has endured from these so called “officials”. There are many witnesses to all the threats that have been made towards me. If I said it once, I have said it hundreds of times, Donnie Myers the prosecutor of Lexington County is holding up Jesse’s case. He is the main reason that an arrest has not been made. I can’t get any help from the attorney general’s office because apparently their offices work hand in hand with each other. I personally have asked the solicitor to remove himself from Jesse’s case. Once he agreed to do that, but he never has. It is a living hell not knowing where my Daughter is, an even greater hell knowing who it is that took her and the “good ole boy system” here in Lexington County will not make an arrest. Thank you so much for your continued prayers. I appreciate you so much. Please continue to follow Jesse’s story as I will never give up searching for my Daughter or give up on demanding these so called “officials” to do their jobs. Please continue to follow her story. I am praying for an arrest and conviction soon, very soon! God Bless and again thank you so very much. I remain, Debra Gutierrez Mother of Jessica Gutierrez

Leave a Reply

 
