Colton Levi Clark

Dedicated to Colton Clark. Missing from Seminole, OK Since April 20, 2006. Looking for Truth and Justice for Colt.

21-Years Later, There May Finally Be Justice for Cindy Zarzycki

Posted by KindraLore on January 4, 2008

Cindy Zarzycki

UPDATE 6/19/08 8:6PM

In the eleventh hour Arthur Ream offered the prosecutors a deal: He would lead them to Cindy Jo’s body in exchange for a guilty plea with a shortened sentence. Cindy’s family agreed but that deal never took place. Prosecutors surmised that maybe it was a ploy to buy time because if in fact had lead them to a body, the trial would have been delayed pending DNA testing. That never took place and today Arthur Ream who was being held on a rape conviction and is a convicted child molester, was found guilty of first-degree murder.

Cindy Jo’s family found the verdict bitter sweet because while justice was served, the family had to finally come to terms once and for all that she was murdered after years of hoping she would be found alive.

Click here for full news story

___________________________________________________________

Original Blog

In April of 1986 Cynthia Jocelyn Zarzycki, (better known as Cindy Jo to her friends and family) was a 13-year-old sandy haired girl living in Eastpointe, Michigan. Sandy Jo loved playing softball and had even won a trophy for most valuable player on her team. Her parents were divorced and she lived with her father, brother and sister in Eastern Detroit and still saw her mother frequently.

Cindy Jo was dating a boy named Scott Ream at the time who later died in a car accident in the 1990’s, well after Cindy Jo’s disappearance. Scott was never a suspect in Cindy Jo’s disappearance, however his father Arthur Nelson Ream is finally facing murder charges in the murder of Cindy Zarzycki twenty-one years later.

Arthur Nelson Ream

According to authorities, Arthur Ream kept a missing person flyer regarding Cindy’s disappearance in a keepsake box. This intrigued investigators, coupled with the fact that Ream was serving a 15-year sentence for third-degree criminal sexual conduct in the assault of a 14-year-old girl. He also was convicted in 1975 of taking indecent liberties with a child. He was due to be paroled December 27th but will instead is expected to be arraigned January 9th on one count each of first- and second-degree murder in Macomb County in Eastpointe’s 38th District Court.

Although authorities suspected Ream in Cindy Jo’s disappearance, they had no evidence linking him until recently. A friend of Cindy Jo’s told detectives that Cindy had planned to meet Ream at the Diary Queen the morning of her disappearance. According to Cindy, Ream was going to take her to a surprise birthday party for his son Scott. Authorities learned that no such party had ever taken place.

A car like Ream’s was spotted at the same Dairy Queen around the time he was to allegedly meet Cindy Jo. Witnesses put her at the Dairy Queen shortly before her disappearance eating an ice cream cone.

Authorities concede that their case is largely circumstantial and Cindy’s body has never been recovered. “There’s no DNA in this case,” said Macomb County Prosecutor Eric Smith. “There’s no smoking gun.”

The family of Cindy Zarzycki may finally have some closure. “Sometimes you tend to feel lost and forgotten,” her father, Ed Zarzycki said. “It just gives you hope that no one forgot, that someone cares enough to bring it back.”

Related Links:

The Charley Project – Cynthia Jocelyn Zarzycki
Man accused in cold case had girl’s missing-person flyer

24 Responses to “21-Years Later, There May Finally Be Justice for Cindy Zarzycki”

  1. [...] Jo was dating a boy named Scott Ream at the time who later died in a car accident in the 1990??s, whttps://coltonleviclark.wordpress.com/2008/01/04/21-years-later-there-may-finally-be-justice-for-cind…Cindy Zarzycki ?? Blogs, Pictures, and more on WordPress21-Years Later, There May Finally Be [...]

  2. [...] for answers.Detroit, Michigan News – http://www.news-spider.com/Local/Michigan/Detroit/index.html|||21-Years Later, There May Finally Be Justice for Cindy ZarzyckiIn April of 1986 Cynthia Jocelyn Zarzycki, better known as Cindy Jo to her friends and family was a [...]

  3. Bill said

    On July 9, 2008, at approximately 5:30PM, a young girl’s remain, believed to be Cindy’s, was found in Macomb Township near 23 Mile and North Avenue Roads. They found the body based on Arthur Ream physically showing them the location of where he stated he buried her. I was at the old farm house situated on the multi-acre lot when they found her remains. The location of her remains were approximately 200 yards behind a collapsed barn and across the Clinton River, on the bank (from news reports and photos). There was a denim purse that contained some cassette tapes and some jewelry that were found with the remains. The brother, aunt and sister of Cindy were also at the farm house. When they were shown the personal affects, they indicated that they were 100% sure the items were Cindy’s.

  4. pamela webb said

    she is my family i cant belive that guy could do this stuff

  5. JR said

    I’m just glad to hear that he (the monster not worth mentioning) got NO DEAL. At least now the family can have a sense of closure.

  6. Dear Pamela,

    My name is Cindy, my best friend in school was Jonnie Zarzycki.(F). Adams Jr. High and Wayne High. Class of 1981. We grew up in Westland Mi. The last name is not a common last name. Her mothers was named Pat. Jonnie never realy talked about her father, he wasn’t in the picture. In all our years of friendsship I don’t remmber Cindy Zarzycki being metioned. I guess what I’m wondering if Cindy was related to Jonnie. The 1st and last name match of best friends in school struck me.
    I’m very sorry for your family loss and I know its bitter sweet to know what has happen to her after all these years.

    Best Wishes Cindy Kittykrazy247@sbcglobal.net

  7. [...] blogs related to [cindy zarzycki] Only one person was arrested this year for firing his gun into the air, Phoenix Police Detective Cindy Scott said. Bad appraisals contribute to housing mess. My friend Larry Smith titled his popular online magazine Smith, not for egotistical reasons but rather because the empty vessel nature of his everyman. Police said they believe Arthur Nelson Ream killed Cindy Jocelyn Zarzycki of Eastpointe, who Pro ana web site on April.(Quote from : 「Cindy smith Community and Technical College, Hennepin Ave.」) In April of 1986 Cynthia Jocelyn Zarzycki, (better known as Cindy Jo to her friends and family) was a 13-year-old sandy haired girl living in Eastpointe, Michigan. Sandy Jo loved playing softball and had even won a trophy for most valuable player on her team. Her parents were divorced and she lived with her father, brother and sister in Eastern Detroit and still saw her mother frequently. Cindy Jo was dating a boy named Scott Ream at the time who later died in a car accident in the 1990’s, w(Quote from : 「21-Years Later, There May Finally Be Justice for Cindy Zarzycki」) [...]

  8. Ron said

    I knew the family back in 1986, I went to school with her brother Eddy and played baseball with Cindy and Eddy. Not only was it not fair that such a BS thing could happen to a 13 year girl, but I will never forget how down, lost, confused, and terrified that Ed (father and Janitor of our school) and Eddy were after her disappearance. I thought of her often and always hoped for the best, I am sorry to see the outcome, but now they can have closure and give her a proper burial. May the piece of sh!t Ream burn in hell. If we are lucky, he will die a slow painful death after a brutal beating while in jail.

    Eddy, I am glad this is somewhat over for you. Wish you my best.

  9. les said

    I lived 3 houses down from Eddie and Ed, sr..His dad was so kind, he would let all us kids from the neighborhood play basketball in his backyard, even when he wasnt home. I moved to the neighborhood a year after this happened, so I never knew the real story till recently. I remember being 13 and them having a candlelight vidual for her, and someone telling me she had run away. God has found a way to give this family closure,thankfully, even if it did take 20+ yrs. She is in a better place now, and she is fine.

  10. Mike Haerens said

    I remember Cindy from when she was my sisters best freind. The lived a few houses down from us in East Detroit (now Eastpointe). We had moved a few years prevoius of her disappearance. Her and my sister Angel still hung out together. I was also friends with Eddy until about 1984, we were 9 then. Best wishes to the family. My God guide you to closure.

    Mike

  11. sherri said

    My Prayers go out to the family and I too wish this monster a painfull way out. I work in prison and there is no justice there. these people sit around whining and suing over every little thing while the victims and their families continue to suffer. I hope now that Cindy and the family have some peace.

  12. Emma said

    I just saw the Dateline thing for this and I’m crying. No 13 year old should ever have to suffer a fate like this. The killer was such a sick man.
    I hope the family now has closure.

  13. I felt terrible watching the dateline story about Cindy. No person deserves to be brutalized the way that she was. I felt guilty when I saw that Scott had died because my first thought was that it was his father’s karma. I wish the best to Cindy’s family and know that this child is in a better place.

  14. galllatea said

    I dated Scott Ream on and off around 1987/88. I knew his Dad. It’s chilling to know what this man did and his history. I was at his house etc…I lost touch with Scott at the end of 1988. But I heard of Scott’s death years later. Lots of tragedy in two families. What’s also weird is that Scott had told me to stay away from his dad. The details were fuzzy as to why though. Being an adult now, with kids in my life, I would say to be very leery about not only who you kid’s date/are friends with, but their parents as well. Art Ream struck me as a very hard-working, normal guy – raising his two sons as a single parent as best as he could and teaching them to work hard like himself. He had a carpet laying business. He never struck me as a strange person, but now I know better. You can’t judge a book by its cover. I could’ve very well ended up in that poor girl’s shoes at 17. My prayers to Cindy’s family.

  15. Anonymous said

    I KNEW ART REAMS WELL AND SOMETHING IS TERRIBLY WRONG WITH THIS PICTURE TO ME THERE WAS A WOMAN THAT ART DATED AFTER SCOTT DIED AND I WONDERED IF SHE I S ALIVE AND THERES MORE THAT I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW TO SATISFIE MYSELF AS TO WHAT REALLY HAPPENED I FEEL FOR THE GIRLS FAMILY BUT IS THERE MORE I THINK SO AND I KNOW KNOW ABOUT THE ELEVATOR SHAFT AND WAS AROUND ART NEVER SAW THE UGLINESS IM HEARING SO HATE DOESNT MEAN THE TRUTH SORRY ABOUT THE LOST LET ALONE MARK WAS NEVER MENTIONED

    • Dana said

      Then take your head out of your ass, believe it the man is sick and should be sent to hell! Art is nothing of greatness sweatheart, im hoping the inmates will show him whose boss in jail, and as for this elevator shaft thing, your just a ramona quimby, you aren’t anything close to know shit! Did you read it, mr/mrs anonymous! wOOF IT DOWN DUDE, HES A FREAKIN RAPIST/KILLER! hE SHOULD BE CAUGHT ON FIRE! I don’t give two shits what anyone says about that! Always these idiots trying to say ohh not them, they wouldn’t do that. Wait till it happens to you because your so freaking ignorant. Lord know I wouldn’t wish that on any child, but please for once take your head out of your arse and reread the newsprint! He did it, what don’t you get about that? We don’t care how satisfied you are, this ain’t about you!

      • DEP_260 said

        Dana tell them how WE really feel. I couldn’t have told them better myself. You go GIRL!! :)

    • anonymous ursofakingretarded said

      Anonymous its stupid beings like you that deserve to fry with them. I don’t care if you knew him and washed his dang underwear cause he was sooo nice! Why on earth should you be satisfied with a different outcome? MY don’t you have a high I.q. LOL! let me help you, READ THE PARAGRAPH RIGHT ABOVE ON THE STORY SWEETHEART! HE DID IT, THE END, HE’S SICK AND TWISTED AND SHOULD BE BURIED ALIVE! LORD KNOWS I DON’T WISH ANYTHING BAD ON ANY CHILD. IF YOU HAVE KIDS OH GEEZ THERE GOES THE NEIGHBORHOOD.. I CAN HEAR YOU NOW OH THAT MANS NICE SURE DEAR GO PLAY WITH HIM! WHERES YOU HEAD AT? in YOUR ARSE, WELL GET IT OUT TWIT, YOUR EXACTLY WHAT’S WRONG WITH OUR SYSTEM. MINDS LIKE YOURS! ART SHOULD BE FRIED TO A CRISP, WITH YOU RIGHT BESIDE HIM! fOR THINKING SUCH A STUPID THING, DAMN YOUR SOFA KING WE TODD DID!

      • Anonymous said

        We Todd Did? What the hell is that? That’s ugly, should I use some sort of racist, or prejuduce slang to blow your ideas and theories out of the water? I realize your passionate about what you write, but what the hell does people with disabiliy have to do with it? As the reader, reading that makes me discredit what you have to say. By the way remember nothing is simply black and white. Everyone is three dimensional.

  16. Rosemary said

    I THINK THAT THIS BASTARD GOT WHAT HE DESERVED. FOR HIM TO DO THIS TO A YOUNG GIRL LIKE CINDY HE IS A PATHETIC SICK OLD MAN. I HOPE HE ROTS IN HELL FOR WHAT HE DID, AND I HOPE HE DIES A PAINFUL DEATH IN JAIL. ROT IN HELL LOSER.

    • R.m. said

      Im with you on that rosemary! I think they should pass a law, and this may seem brutal, (but in the bible it does say eye for an eye, tooth for a tooth)anyone that rapes,abuses,beats,molests a child or person the parents of the victim should be able to castrate them on their own terms. Or scalp them the person alive! There is no reason to keep these jerks alive, they never stop, it is something that they will be for the rest of their lives. Yet, they keep giving them slaps on the wrist! It’s disgusting how their more concerned with those that do lighter crimes instead of those that hurt the children of our future! MOst likely because alot of judges are guilty of doin the same thing! It’s like the law doesn’t care what happens to chidren they let them out, it’s pathetic. America is turning into a pedophile ring altogether.

  17. Think said

    I wonder why there was no more trying to figure out where her body was by using that psychic. They should have tried harder to find her body.

  18. psychic said

    psychic healing…

    21-Years Later, There May Finally Be Justice for Cindy Zarzycki « Colton Levi Clark…

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

